Earth Day in my Organic Hat

Men's Straw Hat - The Mojave Organic Raffia Gambler at HartfordYork.comEarth Day 2012 is this Sunday, April 22, and I’ll be celebrating it in eco-friendly fashion: by wearing The Mojave, a gambler style hat made from naturally harvested, 100% organic raffia straw from Madagascar.

I’ve taken a few tips from EarthDay.org (after I completed their Footprint Calculator, an eye-opening couple of minutes!), and will also up my “Acts of Green” by trying to find even more sources of local food than I already buy from, and will increase composting and recycling wherever possible.

I haven’t used a rain barrel in my vegetable garden, but will do so this year. I’m pretty good with other small energy savers like turning off lights and laptops, and using LED bulbs instead of standard light bulbs. I saw something mentioned on the Earth Day site that I’d never heard of before in terms of saving energy: using stairs instead of the elevator for a couple of flights — that’s something I’ve done (once in a while) but only as an added bit of exercise.

It’s good to know I can look great and feel virtuous in a hat too. It doesn’t even have to be a straw hat. I mean, just look at The True Organic Scala Ball Cap. It’s a completely classic look with with one significant advantage: a low environmental impact because the cotton is grown without chemicals or pesticides and is hand gathered and naturally processed.

Thanks for reading,
Steve Singer
CEO Hartford York

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by email or RSS.

Published in: on April 20, 2012 at 4:10 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hartfordyorkhats.wordpress.com/2012/04/20/earth-day-in-my-organic-hat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

