Gentle With My Hat, Please, Officer

Fur Felt Fedoras from Hartford York Hats - Men's Borsalino Fedora - The Virgilio DorseNewsday.com reports that the Transportation Security Administration has issued a directive advising the nation’s 43,000 airport screeners to scrutinize anyone wearing a head covering that might hide explosives (or monkeys) — be it a cowboy hat, turban, baseball cap or beret.

Okay, I get the explosives bit and I’m all for it but I was completely unaware of the monkey-under-the-hat smuggling incident that apparently took place on a flight into LaGuardia Airport earlier this month. Now you know I’ve been wearing hats all my life and maybe it’s just me, but it really never has occurred to me (until a moment ago) to use my headwear as a form of animal transport. Several immediate concerns comes to mind, and most of them involve extreme danger to either my hair or hat.

Also I do have some trouble thinking that a beret can hide anything larger than a ladybug.

However, if there’s a market niche somewhere in this story just begging to be filled, I’m your man. I’ll give this whole thing some considerable thought and get back to you.

In the meantime, my advice still stands. Your head belongs in your hat. Nowhere else and certainly nothing else.

Thanks for reading,
Steve Singer
CEO Hartford York

If you’ve got a monkey on your back or in your hat, join our merry little hat band for free updates by email or RSS.

categories:

Published in: on August 29, 2007 at 4:01 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hartfordyorkhats.wordpress.com/2007/08/29/gentle-with-my-hat-please-officer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

