Stories of Joy, Sorrow and Hats: Memories Under the Brim

My very first post on this blog was about Craig Marberry’s book, Crowns: Portraits of Black Women in Church Hats.

Not to toot my own visionary horn or anything (*where’s my bugle*), but Crowns, presented by the Arizona Theatre Company, is now playing through Feb. 4 at the Temple of Music and Art.

Regina Taylor wrote the musical play, which she says took her on a “journey of self-discovery”, with a little help from her mom.

At one point, I was talking to [my mother] about it, and she walked me through her closet of hats. I spent an afternoon talking to her about her hats and tracing her life through these hats. That’s when I really got it.

“I hadn’t been a hat wearer,” she said. “Now I wear hats and own about 50 of them.”

Women's Crown Cap Fur Cloche - The Leather And Fox Cloche

And where’s your crown m’lady?

Thanks for reading,
Steve Singer
CEO Hartford York

source

Published in: on January 20, 2006 at 10:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hartfordyorkhats.wordpress.com/2006/01/20/stories-of-joy-sorrow-and-hats-memories-under-the-brim/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

